Mockingbird With Bluebonnets

Unfortunately I didn’t have anything St. Patrick’s Day related to show you, since I’ve been working on…this!

mockingbird with bluebonnets

It’s an entry for a contest, as well as one of my first serious watercolor paintings. :3 I used Simply Watercolor’s tube set, and added a few touch-ups with Derwent’s watercolor pencils. The outline was originally drawn with a standard mechanical pencil, but for the final painting I used a copy of the outline. Considering that I’m not very experienced with watercolors, I must admit that I’m quite happy with it!

Image result
Ryan Hagerty – This image originates from the National Digital Library of the United States Fish and Wildlife Service

And yet, now that I’m looking at my reference again, I’m noticing many mistakes. Especially the wings…I’ve invented a new style of picasso, it seems! 😛 But as always, I’m very open to comments and critique. ^^

2 thoughts on “Mockingbird With Bluebonnets

  1. It’s beautiful! Quite a site better than my big watercolor painting, that’s for sure, and I was in high school at the time! Then again, my primary mistake was with drawing the pencil sketch too dark. A problem you’ve sidestepped nicely with painting over a copy of the original. 😀

    How did you paint it without smearing the ink all over the place? A sealer? Which one did you use? 🙂

    I think the bird looks pretty good. My only real critique would be the bluebonnets. Did you have a reference with similar lighting as the bird? The bluebonnets are not the focal point, but the difference in lighting looks a tad out of place.

    It’s a relatively minor thing though, and I still love it. Especially the lovely feathery texture, and how the background fades off into that lovely wash watercolor is capable of doing. I love watercolor…should play with it more.

    You’ve inspired me. 😀

    Like

  2. Thank you very much! I’m glad I inspired you. 😀 And that’s high praise, I must say!

    Hmm…I never really considered that the ink would smear, to be honest. So I was probably lucky that it didn’t! Maybe the reason why was because of the watercolor paper I used, or maybe it had something to do with the fact that I sent it to a more professional photo copier. Or it could be a mix between the two.

    Ah, yeah, my reference for the bluebonnets had a much dimmer light source, which I only realize now that you mention it. :’3 Next time I’ll be sure to pay more attention to the lighting (which I’m actually going to take a mini online course on). 🙂

    I think I’m starting to love watercolors, too. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

